Answered By: Scholarly Communications and Publishing
Last Updated: May 22, 2017     Views: 43

Any federal agency with $100 million or more in annual R&D expenditure is required to develop a public access policy, although not all of them have yet. Listed below are the federal agencies that must adopt policies.  

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  • Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR)
  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of Interior
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
  • National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • Smithsonian Institution (Complying voluntarily. Budget is less than $1 million)

Several private research funders are also adopting public access mandates, including: The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the American Heart Association, The Ford Foundation and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation.

Scholarly Communication and Publishing

Contact Information

(217) 333-3619

Send Email

SCP Website

Request a Consultation!

Related Topics